Grizzly Bear

Grizzly BearGrizzly bears, scientifically known as Ursus arctos, are a subspecies of brown bears. Theoretically a subspecies is a population of a species with unique physical, social, or genetic traits that distinguish it from the species as a whole. These bears are unique because unlike the brown bears, which prefer cold climates near coastlines, they prefer warmer climates and interior habitat. This subspecies lives in southern Canada, the Pacific Northwest and the Rocky Mountains. These bears are most of the time found fishing along rivers. A large population of them lives inland in Alaska and Canada.

Grizzly bears are large and brownish in color. They have received their name, because their brown fur can be tipped with white, which gives them a grizzled look. Like other brown bears this subspecies also have black noses and short, rounded ears. One of the most noticeable characteristics of the grizzly bear is the hump on its back. Grizzly bears can weigh more than 700 pounds and like every common animals the males are heavier than the females. Being omnivore in nature, their diet consists of both plant and animal food. The plants may be nuts, fruits, grasses, fungi, moss and roots. If grizzly bears are on the hunt, their prey can include fish, insects, mountain sheep, elk, and rodents.
Grizzly Bear Grizzly Bear Grizzly Bear
Grizzly bears live about 25 years in the wild. They can run pretty fast, reaching speeds upwards of 40 miles per hour. They are good swimmers too. Young grizzly bears can climb trees to evade danger, but this ability is lost with age. The bears were excessively hunted and now there are less than 1,500 grizzlies left in the continental United States. Today, grizzly bears can be found in select areas of Montana, Idaho, Wyoming and Washington, such as Yellowstone National Park and Glacier National Park.

Posted by on Jan.08, 2012, under Info

No comments for this entry yet...

Leave a Reply